The Dreaded R Word – Redundancy

Unfortunately I have been made redundant twice; the last time being about a year ago.

I was working for a Training Provider as a Funding Auditor and had been with the company for just over 5 years. There were so many positives about the job I did. Most importantly, I thoroughly enjoyed my job as it was both varied and interesting and I was working with a lovely team of people and had a great supportive boss.  I had improved my IT skills and gained a qualification during my employment with the company, and working part-time and only 5 minutes from home was fantastic for my work/life balance.

Then a bombshell was dropped: there were to be redundancies across the company.

Regrettably, my team were affected and our number was being halved.  The only positions available would be full time and I was not in a position to be able to apply due to childcare arrangements.  I had no alternative but to accept the redundancy.  I was devastated, my mind was in free fall. Where could I possibly find another job similar to the one I had?  My last day was so emotional – saying goodbye to my colleagues, I was totally gutted.

I didn’t have time to dwell on it for too long. I needed to find another job as soon as I could and actively set about job hunting.  The first thing I had to do was update my CV, adding on my previous employment details and amending the format.  Then to job search; my most popular go-to sites were Indeed, Total Jobs, the Civil Service Website and the NHS website.  I was looking for part time work within a reasonable distance to home – fortunately I had access to a car which widened my search.

I spent hours completing application forms, and quickly realised that meeting the criteria of the job profile was essential. I needed to provide examples of ‘how’ and ‘when’ to support my answers and display my skills and experience. This meant I would hopefully stand out from the hundreds of other applicants.

6290270129_74eef94d8f_b

I then saw a job advertised on Indeed with the National Careers Service as a Business Support Co-ordinator and everything about the job seemed perfect – the role profile, the hours, the location, and I knew I had to apply.  I spent ages perfecting my application form, to ensure I met the essential criteria with my answers and examples.

A week later I got a call to invite me for interview! I was filled with excitement but also nervousness. I had to do well, I had to sell myself and convince the interviewees that I was the right one for the job, as I knew I was!  As with most interviews these days, I knew the interview was going to be competency based and prepared examples of answers using the STAR technique, which I was familiar with. I also completed research on the company, their values, as well as checking out the website and social media streams.

The interview went well, I kept my nerves in check and when I left the room after about an hour I felt positive, and even more importantly, I knew I wanted the position. I had been told the manager was going on holiday for a week, and no decision would be made until her return so now it was just a case of waiting. I continued looking for other jobs, knowing that if I had been unsuccessful I would be disappointed, however I would grow from the experience.  Just over a week later I got the call offering me the job to start the following week.  I was ecstatic! That was May 2016 and I am still here and loving my job more than ever.

If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of facing redundancy, require advice on your CV, fancy a career change or need some interview support, then contact the National Careers Service on 0800 100 900 where our advisers can help you make the next step.

-Jill, Business Support Co-Ordinator

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

